2020 Trophy Final set, Jones hits major league landmark

The 2020 Betty Codona WBBL Trophy Final at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow next month will see a repeat of the 2019 edition after Durham Palatinates joined holders Leicester Riders in the showpiece game.

Leicester won a thriller 72-66 against recent WBBL Cup winners Sevenoaks Suns by executing in crunch time to get the job done. Jen Ashton, Brea Elmore, Sara Hinriksdottir and Kate Oliver all returned double-digit scores, with the latter leading the way by netting 17 points.

Meanwhile Durham outlasted Nottingham Wildcats by finding a higher gear during the last period to ease away and complete a 92-82 success. It was founded on a team-high 23 points from Dee Hayward and perhaps most tellingly, 17 points and a super six steals for Betsy MacDonald.

Wildcats’ star Jasmine Joyner was unfortunate to be on the losing team after recording one of the most sensational individual displays of the season with a stellar 32 points, 17 rebounds and 3 blocks.

Meanwhile in the WBBL Championship, Manchester Mystics racked up the highest tally of the season as they smashed their way past Oaklands Wolves 111-46. A blistering 41-8 first quarter blew the visitors out of the water, with Sam Roscore putting up 23 points, 9 rebounds and 5 assists and both Dom Allen and Sara Djassi completing double-doubles to move Mystics into third place in the standings.

However, the game was most memorable for Great Britain guard Georgia Jones becoming only the third player in league history to reach the landmark of 1,500 WBBL Championship points.

Betty Codona WBBL Trophy Semi-Final
Nottingham Wildcats 82-92 Durham Palatinates
(Wildcats – Jasmine Joyner 32, Simone Costa 13, Tereza Sedlakova 10; Palatinates – Dee Hayward 23, Betsy MacDonald 17, Cierra Ceazer 13)

Betty Codona WBBL Trophy Semi-Final
Leicester Riders 72-66 Sevenoaks Suns
(Riders – Kate Oliver 17, Brea Elmore 14, Sara Hinriksdottir 12; Suns – Renee Busch 21, Irene Garrido-Perez 11, Julia Koppl 9, Ijeoma Ofomata 8)

WBBL Championship
Manchester Mystics 111-46 Oaklands Wolves
(Mystics – Sam Roscoe 23, Georgia Jones 21, Rheanne Bailey 14; Wolves – Anneke Schlueter 9, Claire Abbott 8, Lizzy Harrison 7)