MVP Hinriksdottir leads Riders to third Betty Codona WBBL Trophy Final triumph

Sara Hinriksdottir was crowned MVP as Leicester Riders secured their third straight Betty Codona WBBL Trophy success with a 70-66 victory against Durham Palatinates.

There was a large dose of deja vu at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow as Riders won another close contest against their north-east opponents.

In a terrific advert for British Basketball live on BBC Sport and on the WBBL’s YouTube channel, fans were treated to a thriller that was packed with plays for the highlights reel.

Hinriksdottir led the way for Leicester, finishing with a game-high 23 points, as well as 7 rebounds to condemn Durham to their third major Final loss in 12 months.

Kate Oliver was also instrumental in denying Durham maiden silverware as she contributed a nice double-double of 17 points and 11 rebounds.

Betty Codona WBBL Trophy Final

Leicester Riders 70-66 Durham Palatinates (20-18, 38-32, 58-54)

(Riders – Sara Hinriksdottir 23, Kate Oliver 17, Brea Elmore 12; Palatinates – Betsy MacDonald 16, Nicolette Fong Lyew Quee 14, Claire Paxton 10, Kate Elderkin 10)