Riders and Suns set for repeat Trophy Final showdown

The 2018 WBBL Betty Codona Trophy Final is set as Leicester Riders and Sevenoaks Suns will go head-to-head in a repeat of their title showdown 12 months ago.

Leicester booked their spot in the Final with a hard-fought 81-76 triumph over Westfield Health Sheffield Hatters, on Saturday.


The hosts recovered from a nine-point lead as they poured in 30 points in the third en route to victory with Dee Hayward and Kate Oliver combining for 44 points.

“We are excited to be revisiting the final again,” declared Hayward. “With the disappointing result last year, I think we we will take that experience and learn from it.

“I have every confidence in every member of our team that we can show up on the game day and get it done – we just have to stay together and play our game.”

The defending champions, Sevenoaks, booked their return to the showpiece Final with a convincing 77-41 victory over WBBL Cup finalists, Caledonia Pride.


Cat Carr led the way with 21 points along with 8 assists, while Ta’Yani Clark posted 14 points, 12 rebounds and 7 assists in an impressive all-round display.

The Final takes place this Saturday at Cheshire Oaks Arena in a 4pm tip-off. Click HERE for tickets.