WBBL players past and present dominate final GB U20 roster

Great Britain’s final twelve for the FIBA U20 Women’s European Championship Division B 2018 has been confirmed – the first of six junior teams to be named this summer.

With Head Coach Jeff Jones at the helm, the team fly out to Romania later today to take on the best of Division B.

Seven of the roster were seen in the WBBL last season, with four representing BA London Lions – Zoe Willis, Flora Durgerian, Loren Christie and Megan Sheret. Oaklands Wolves’ Tia Freeman, Caledonia Pride’s Hannah Robb and Leicester Riders’ Sarah Round make the cut too.

Senior international Savannah Wilkinson – now at Florida State University in the United States – is also part of the 12, as are Southwark Pride product Ire Ozzy Momodu. Lancashire Spinners’ Shauna Harrison makes the jump from U18 to U20 while there are places for Anna Popovic – once of Charnwood College – and Imani Whittington.

Britain play the opening game of the tournament against Israel in Oradea on Saturday and face group games against hosts Romania as well as Lithuania, Ukraine and Greece.

Every competitive game involving Great Britain’s junior teams will be streamed live via British Basketball’s Facebook page and FIBA’s YouTube page.

GB U20 Squad

3 Zoe Willis (BA London Lions)
4 Flora Durgerian (BA London Lions)
7 Imani Whittington (Columbia University)
8 Hannah Robb (Caledonia Pride)
9 Tia Freeman (Oaklands Wolves)
10 Loren Christie (BA London Lions)
12 Sarah Round (Leicester Riders)
14 Anna Popovic (Elon University)
15 Shauna Harrison (Lancashire Spinners)
17 Savannah Wilkinson (Florida State University)
18 Megan Sheret (BA London Lions)
20 Ire Ozzy Momodu (Robert Morris University)

Head Coach: Jeff Jones
Assistant Coach: Krumesh Patel
Assistant Coach: Natalie Chaloner
Sports Therapist: Ellen Cook
Team Manager: Dominique Allen

Saturday July 7th – Israel v Great Britain 3.00pm
Sunday July 8th – Great Britain v Romania 7.30pm
Monday July 9th – Lithuania v Great Britain 5.15pm
Wednesday July 11th – Great Britain v Ukraine 5.15pm
Thursday July 12th – Greece v Great Britain 3.00pm